Open Stake – 03/01/2016 Report

On Sunday January 3rd 2016 we held the first trial of the New Year on the Ilaunmore Shoot, which only 2 weeks previously hosted the successful and very well organised 2015 IKC Spaniel Championship . All held by kind permission of Mr.Michael Manke.

Judges for our trial were Mr. Dermot Dunne (A), Mr. Tim Crothers (A) and Mr. Barry Caffrey, who was making his debut as a C panel Judge.

The Hon. Sec. started the proceedings by welcoming everyone and congratulating Barry Caffrey on his recent win at the Championship with F.T.Ch. Ainninn Thunderbolt.

After a few brief introductions, The Steward of the Beat Mr. Vincent Kyne took us straight to the game. Where the handler/dog friendly approach of the Judges put everyone at ease once they stepped into the line. As usual the pheasants and partridge were very plentiful and we also had a good few rabbits making a welcome return.

There was great support for this trial, with 11 dogs in reserve on the card and also another 6 or 7 handlers making calls to the Hon. Sec. after the draw in the hope that there might have been a chance of a run.

With only 5 dogs not completing the trial the Judges had a lengthy task of doing up the books at the end of which they called for Sean Moriarty and Jamie Cahill for a run off.

We headed back to the cars for the presentation where both Dermot Dunne and Tim Crothers stated that this was a very high standard stake and they felt all the dogs would easily compete in a Championship.

The winner was presented with the North Tipp. Working Gundog Club Perpetual Cup and the first four handlers were presented with dog food which was very kindly sponsored by KRONCH.

The craic and relaxed atmosphere along with a high standard of dog work helped to make this one of the more memorable trials to have been at.


1st        Coverfield Pride of Horistown – ESSB – (Excellent)

(F.T.Ch. Tearsol Flash X Derryeden Hazel)

Owned and handled by Mr. Sean Moriarty.


2nd       F.T.Ch. Clodahill Nell – ESSB – (Excellent)

(F.T.Ch. Tearsol Flash X F.T.Ch. Clodahill Annie)

Owned and handled by Mr. Jamie Cahill.


3rd       F.T.Ch. Clodahill Layla – ESSB – (Excellent)

(F.T.Ch. Skronedale Remus X F.T.Ch. Clodahill Annie)

Owned and handled by Mr. Pat Brennan.


4th        Kilcarra Snowie – ESSD – (Excellent)

(F.T.Ch. Churchview Chunnel X Kilcarra Pixie)

Owned and handled by Mr. Pat Greene.


Mountemple Teegan – ESSB – Owned and handled by Mr. Benny Ryan.

Sharmar Coco – ESSB – Owned and handled by Mr. Murt Walsh.

Glenhestbeg Chap – Owned and handled by Mr. PJ Davitt.

Fuchsia Glenavaud – Owned and handled by Mr. Tom O’Connor.

F.T.Ch. Blackguard Ivy – Owned and handled by Mr. James Casey.

Ainninnn Susie – Owned and handled by Mr. Benny Ryan.

Int.F.T.Ch. Hollydrive Kurt – Owned and handled by Mr. Mick Walsh.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.