10th Anniversary Working Test 2014

Our Annual Working Tests were yet again held this year on the lands of Birr Castle Demesne, on Sunday 13th April 2014, by kind permission of the Derrinsallow Shooting Syndicate and Smiths Gravel Pits.

As the Club is celebrating 10 years in existence this year, the Committee decided to run this event in aid of the North Tipperary Hospice and all proceeds from the day would be donated to this very worthy charity. Our Judges for the day were Jimmy King and Des Donnelly, both of them being well known faces on the trial circuit. They had 44 dogs in total to look at for the day.

At the beginning of the day’s proceedings Chairman Pat Brennan thanked everybody associated with helping this Club over the past 10 years. The Hon. Secretary then gave a brief history of the Club.

The Puppy and Novice were run in rushes and the Open course was run through young trees with more grassy underfoot conditions. All aspects of the Tests were kept very straightforward which allowed the Judges to get through the dogs quickly. At the end of the Test two dogs were called for a run-off, Sean Moriarty’s – F.T.Ch.Tearsol Flash & Mick Walsh’s – F.T.Ch.Hollydrive Theo.

Before the presentation we ran our Raffle which as always was extremely well sponsored and supported, with the main prizes being sponsored by Proctor & Gamble and Open Season.

After the Raffle the Hon. Secretary thanked Sponsors, Hosts, Judges, Stewards and anyone who had helped out in any way over the past 10 years with bringing this Club to the successful position which it is now in and he also thanked the various committees which ran the Club in that time. Finally, before the winners were announced the Hon. Secretary acknowledged the long standing association and extremely generous sponsorship which the Club has enjoyed with Massbrook Petfoods since day one.

He then went on to announce the winners, the crystal trophies for first and second place in each event were very kindly sponsored by JP Electrical (Thurles) and committee member Willie White.

Puppy Test

1st Phortaigh Dair – Mr. Kevin Somers.

(F.T.Ch Skronedale Remus X Whiznic Waltz)

2nd Rosbeha Kestrel – Ms. Shona Keeshan. Handled by John Keeshan.

(Ballycleary Bruiser X Rosbeha Berry)

3rd Coverfield Alice – Mr. Martin Power.

(Int.F.T.Ch. Skronedale Romulus X Derryeden Hazel)

4th Rosbeha Kittiwake – Ms. Shona Keeshan. Handled by John Keeshan.

(Ballycleary Bruiser X Rosbeha Berry)

Novice test

1st Clodahill Nell – Mr. Jamie Cahill.

(F.T.Ch. Tearsol Flash X F.T.Ch. Clodahill Annie)

2nd Antoileanbeag Comghan – Mr. Matt Fitzgerald.

(F.T.Ch. Hollydrive Theo X Garranglen Rose of Antoileanbeag)

3rd Peddlers Cross – Mr. Laurence Hennessy.

(Buccleuch Fin X Drumross Imogen)

4th Clentohill Candy – Mr. Eoin Lowry.

(Clodahill Ian X Clentohill Abbey) .

Open test

1st F.T.Ch.Tearsol Flash – Mr. Sean Moriarty.

(F.T.Ch. Maesyronen Market Trader X Tearsol Maggie)

2nd F.T.Ch. Hollydrive Theo – Mr. Mick Walsh.

(F.T.Ch.Helmsway Hawk of Witchwillows X Int.F.T.Ch Poppet Rocket)

3rd Hollydrive Sally – Mr. Mick Walsh.

(Int.F.T.Ch.Skronedale Romulus X Hollydrive Kylie)

4th F.T.Ch. Clodahill Fern – Mr. Willie White.

(F.T.Ch. Skronedale Remus X F.T.Ch. Clodahill Annie)


Best Hunting Spaniel:   Drumreenagh De Vitry – Rody Culleton.

Best New Comer: Martin Power.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.